Intelligence. Accountability. Analysis.
Est. 2022 · Washington, D.C.
The Congressional Times
We follow the data, not the narrative
◆ Live Intelligence
Loading...
Analysis Loading today's analysis...
Politics

Trump Financial Disclosure Shows SpaceX Trades While Firm Holds Federal Contracts

Trump Financial Disclosure Shows SpaceX Trades While Firm Holds Federal Contracts

A president trading shares in a government contractor creates a factual overlap between personal financial activity and federal procurement decisions that ethics law is designed to prevent.

Gab-E Intelligence Platform · September 22, 2026

President Donald Trump bought up to $50,000 worth of shares in SpaceX and sold up to $15,000 of SpaceX shares in July 2026, according to his financial disclosure filed with the Office of Government Ethics and reported by NBC News. SpaceX is a private aerospace company owned in significant part by Elon Musk, who served as an informal adviser to the Trump administration and led the Department of Government Efficiency advisory effort in 2025.

SpaceX holds active contracts with federal agencies. According to USASpending.gov, the company has received awards from NASA and the Department of Defense, including contracts under the Commercial Crew Program and military launch services agreements. The total value of SpaceX federal contracts listed in USASpending.gov exceeds $15 billion across multiple award years, though the specific contracts active during July 2026 would require a current USASpending.gov query to enumerate precisely.

Federal ethics rules governing the executive branch are codified at 18 U.S.C. Section 208, which prohibits executive branch employees from participating in matters in which they hold a financial interest. The president is exempt from Section 208 under 18 U.S.C. Section 202(c), but the Office of Government Ethics has long encouraged presidents to voluntarily divest or place assets in blind trusts to avoid conflicts of interest. President Trump did not establish a blind trust upon taking office in January 2025, a fact confirmed by his public financial disclosures.

The financial disclosure form used by senior federal officials, Standard Form 278, requires reporting of asset purchases and sales within dollar-range bands rather than exact figures. The band "up to $50,000" covers any purchase from $1 to $50,000, and the band "up to $15,000" covers any sale from $1 to $15,000. The precise transaction amounts are not disclosed under this reporting framework. The exact share price, number of shares, and transaction dates within July 2026 are not specified in the disclosure as reported.

SpaceX is a privately held company, meaning its shares are not traded on a public stock exchange. Private share transactions typically occur through secondary markets, direct transfers, or employee equity sales. The mechanism by which President Trump acquired or liquidated SpaceX shares is not stated in the disclosure summary reported by NBC News. A copy of the full Standard Form 278 filing would contain additional detail on the transaction type and intermediary, if any.

Elon Musk's dual role as a major federal contractor and a close associate of the Trump administration has drawn scrutiny from both Democratic and Republican members of Congress. In 2025, the Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee requested documentation on the scope of DOGE's access to federal agency data systems. The outcome of that inquiry and any follow-on oversight activity through 2026 is not captured in the source material available for this report.

Presidents are not prohibited by statute from holding or trading stock, including stock in companies that contract with the federal government. The Presidential Records Act and Ethics in Government Act require disclosure but do not mandate divestiture. Congress has considered legislation that would require presidents and vice presidents to place assets in blind trusts, but no such bill has been enacted as of the date of this report, based on the congressional record.

For comparative reference, President Trump's financial disclosures during his first term (2017 to 2021) also drew review for holdings in companies with federal business connections. The Office of Government Ethics issued guidance letters during that period encouraging divestiture, which the White House declined. That precedent is documented in OGE correspondence made public through Freedom of Information Act releases.

What remains unknown in this story includes: the exact dollar amounts of the July 2026 SpaceX transactions, the names of any brokers or secondary-market platforms used, whether any White House official recused from SpaceX-related contract decisions during the period when the trades occurred, and whether the Office of Government Ethics has issued any written guidance to the president regarding these trades. The full Standard Form 278 filing, available through the Office of Government Ethics public database, would answer the first two questions. White House recusal records, if any exist, would require a Freedom of Information Act request to the relevant federal agencies.

Today's Analysis
Loading...
Latest Intelligence
Congressional Intelligence
Loading...
Financial Intelligence
Loading...
Geopolitical Intelligence
Loading...
Follow the MoneyGab-E Political Intelligence Investigation
Loading...
Opinion & Analysis
Loading...
Archive
Loading...
About
Our Mission

We Follow the Data, Not the Narrative

The Congressional Times exists because public records are public — and the analysis built from them should not be exclusive to those who can afford $60,000-a-year intelligence subscriptions.

Every story published in The Congressional Times is sourced to a verifiable public record: a court filing, a Senate lobbying disclosure, an FEC contribution record, a USASpending contract, or a verified news report. We state our sources inline. We show our math. When we are wrong, we say so publicly.

We do not editorialize in news coverage. We do not use loaded language. Both political parties are held to identical standards.

The Follow the Money investigations are the heart of this publication. Each begins with Gab-E Political Intelligence running against 10+ million government records before a single word of editorial is written.

Powered by Gab-E, an elite global intelligence platform built to democratize political and financial intelligence.

Editorial Policy
Editorial Standards & Corrections Policy

How We Source, Verify, and Correct Our Work

Every factual claim in a Congressional Times story is checked against a primary source: a government filing, a court record, a direct quote, before publication. When a claim can't be verified or doesn't hold up as originally reported, we drop it or reframe it. We do not publish disputed claims as settled fact.

When we get it wrong: we correct the story directly, note the correction and date at the bottom of the piece, and update the record. We do not quietly edit and move on.

Bylines: stories with a named byline are written and fact-checked by that person. Stories without a byline are sourced from Gab-E Political Intelligence, our automated research platform, and are labeled as such.

Ownership: The Congressional Times is published by Gab-E Holdings LLC. Gab-E, our intelligence platform, powers our sourcing and research pipeline.

Corrections or concerns: support@gab-e.com