Paylocity Director Sells 800 Shares at $158.75 Each in September Transaction
A director-level sale at a company whose stock has declined over the past year draws routine SEC disclosure, offering investors a data point on insider sentiment at a mid-cap HR software firm.
Paylocity Holding Corporation director Kenneth Robinson sold 800 shares of company stock on September 7, 2026, generating proceeds of approximately $127,000, according to a Form 4 filing with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. The per-share price implied by the transaction is $158.75, calculated by dividing the reported $127,000 in proceeds by the 800 shares sold.
Paylocity (Nasdaq: PCTY) is a Schaumburg, Illinois-based provider of cloud-based human capital management and payroll software, primarily serving mid-market U.S. Employers. The company competes in the HR technology sector alongside firms including ADP and Paychex.
The sale was reported by The Motley Fool, which characterized the transaction as appearing largely routine. The outlet noted that the stock price is down noticeably over the trailing 12-month period, though the specific percentage decline was not stated in the available source material. The precise 12-month return figure would be confirmed by referencing Nasdaq historical price data.
Under SEC rules, directors, officers, and beneficial owners of more than 10 percent of a company's shares are required to report purchases and sales of company stock on Form 4 within two business days of the transaction. Robinson's filing falls within that standard disclosure framework.
Insider sales are disclosed publicly to provide market participants with information about transactions by those with access to non-public company information. A single sale by a director does not, on its own, indicate a company's financial direction. Context that would add interpretive weight includes whether the shares were sold as part of a pre-arranged 10b5-1 trading plan, which allows insiders to schedule sales in advance to avoid questions about timing. The available source material does not specify whether a 10b5-1 plan governed this transaction. That detail would appear in the full Form 4 filing on the SEC's EDGAR database.
Robinson's board tenure and total share ownership after the sale are not stated in the available source material. Those figures would also be disclosed in the Form 4 filing and in Paylocity's most recent proxy statement filed with the SEC.
Paylocity's most recently reported fiscal quarter, for the period ended June 30, 2026, would be the relevant earnings document for assessing current business performance. Revenue growth, customer count, and recurring revenue retention are the metrics most commonly cited by analysts covering the company, according to prior earnings coverage. Specific figures from the most recent earnings report are not included in the available source material.
The broader HR software sector has faced pressure in recent quarters as slowing U.S. Hiring growth reduced demand for payroll processing volume tied to employee headcount. The Federal Reserve's interest rate path has also affected valuations across high-multiple software names, given that higher discount rates compress the present value of future earnings. The Fed's most recent policy statement, as of September 2026, is the relevant document for assessing current rate conditions.
At 800 shares and $127,000 in value, the Robinson transaction is modest relative to the market capitalization of a publicly traded mid-cap company. Paylocity's market capitalization as of the transaction date is not stated in the available source material and would be determined by multiplying total shares outstanding, as reported in the company's most recent 10-Q, by the prevailing share price.
Investors tracking insider activity at Paylocity can monitor subsequent Form 4 filings on the SEC's EDGAR system to assess whether additional insider transactions follow in the coming weeks.