Intelligence. Accountability. Analysis.
Est. 2022 · Washington, D.C.
The Congressional Times
★★★
We follow the data, not the narrative
◆ Live Intelligence
Loading...
Analysis Loading today's analysis...
Federal Policy

Virginia Woman Required to Pay Before Urgent Care Nurse Administered EpiPen

Virginia Woman Required to Pay Before Urgent Care Nurse Administered EpiPen

The incident illustrates a documented gap in federal and state law governing point-of-care payment requirements at urgent care facilities, where no statute explicitly prohibits prepayment demands...

Gab-E Intelligence Platform · November 2, 2026

A Virginia woman experiencing a life-threatening allergic reaction was required to pay an undisclosed sum upfront before staff at an urgent care facility would administer a dose of epinephrine, according to a report published November 2, 2026, by KFF Health News.

Stephanie Rowell, the patient, stated in the KFF Health News interview that she asked staff directly whether they would have allowed her to go without treatment if she lacked the funds. According to Rowell, a staff member replied that requiring prepayment was their policy. The name and location of the urgent care facility were not specified in the published report. The dollar amount Rowell paid was also not disclosed in the sourced account.

The incident centers on a legal distinction that affects millions of Americans. The Emergency Medical Treatment and Labor Act, known as EMTALA, passed by Congress in 1986 and codified at 42 U.S.C. Section 1395dd, requires hospitals that accept Medicare funding to provide a medical screening examination and stabilizing treatment regardless of a patient's ability to pay. However, EMTALA applies specifically to hospital emergency departments and does not extend to freestanding urgent care clinics, according to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services guidance documents.

Urgent care centers occupy a regulatory space between physician offices and hospital emergency departments. The Urgent Care Association, an industry group, reported in its 2024 Benchmarking Report that there were approximately 14,000 urgent care centers operating in the United States. Federal law does not impose EMTALA obligations on these facilities, and Virginia state law does not include a provision that explicitly prohibits prepayment requirements for emergency interventions at non-hospital outpatient sites, according to the Virginia Code as publicly available through the Virginia Legislative Information System.

Epinephrine, the active ingredient in an EpiPen, is the first-line treatment for anaphylaxis, a severe and potentially fatal allergic reaction, according to clinical guidelines published by the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology. Anaphylaxis can cause airway closure, a drop in blood pressure, and cardiac arrest within minutes if untreated. The drug itself costs manufacturers a small fraction of its retail price, though brand-name auto-injectors have been the subject of congressional scrutiny over pricing.

EpiPen pricing became a congressional matter in 2016 when the Senate Judiciary Committee and the Senate Special Committee on Aging held hearings examining Mylan N.V.'s pricing practices after the list price of a two-pack rose to approximately $600. Mylan's then-CEO Heather Bresch testified before the House Oversight Committee on September 21, 2016, according to the congressional record. Legislation was introduced in multiple sessions of Congress to address the cost, though no comprehensive federal EpiPen pricing cap became law as of the date of this report.

At the federal level, the No Surprises Act, which took effect January 1, 2022, under Division BB of the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2021, added certain billing protections for patients at out-of-network facilities, including some urgent care settings. However, the law addresses surprise billing after services are rendered and does not explicitly prohibit a facility from requiring payment before treatment is administered.

The KFF Health News report did not specify whether Rowell sustained lasting harm, whether she has filed a complaint with Virginia's Department of Health or the Virginia Board of Medicine, or whether she has pursued legal action. The name of the urgent care operator involved was also not disclosed in the available source material.

At the congressional level, no legislation specifically addressing prepayment requirements at urgent care facilities for emergency interventions has been introduced in the current session, according to a search of Congress.gov as of the date of this report.

Several facts remain unknown from publicly available records. The identity of the urgent care facility, the specific amount Rowell paid, and whether the facility is subject to any Medicare or Medicaid participation agreement that might impose additional obligations are all undisclosed. A Virginia Department of Health complaint record or a civil court filing by Rowell, if one exists, would establish the facility's name and any regulatory response. The Virginia Board of Medicine's public disciplinary database would show whether any license action followed.

Today's Analysis
Loading...
★
Latest Intelligence
Congressional Intelligence
Loading...
★
Financial Intelligence
Loading...
★
Geopolitical Intelligence
Loading...
★
Follow the MoneyGab-E Political Intelligence Investigation
Loading...
Opinion & Analysis
Loading...
Archive
Loading...
About
Our Mission

We Follow the Data, Not the Narrative

The Congressional Times exists because public records are public — and the analysis built from them should not be exclusive to those who can afford $60,000-a-year intelligence subscriptions.

Every story published in The Congressional Times is sourced to a verifiable public record: a court filing, a Senate lobbying disclosure, an FEC contribution record, a USASpending contract, or a verified news report. We state our sources inline. We show our math. When we are wrong, we say so publicly.

We do not editorialize in news coverage. We do not use loaded language. Both political parties are held to identical standards.

The Follow the Money investigations are the heart of this publication. Each begins with Gab-E Political Intelligence running against 10+ million government records before a single word of editorial is written.

Powered by Gab-E, an elite global intelligence platform built to democratize political and financial intelligence.

Editorial Policy
Editorial Standards & Corrections Policy

How We Source, Verify, and Correct Our Work

Every factual claim in a Congressional Times story is checked against a primary source: a government filing, a court record, a direct quote, before publication. When a claim can't be verified or doesn't hold up as originally reported, we drop it or reframe it. We do not publish disputed claims as settled fact.

When we get it wrong: we correct the story directly, note the correction and date at the bottom of the piece, and update the record. We do not quietly edit and move on.

Bylines: stories with a named byline are written and fact-checked by that person. Stories without a byline are sourced from Gab-E Political Intelligence, our automated research platform, and are labeled as such.

Ownership: The Congressional Times is published by Gab-E Holdings LLC. Gab-E, our intelligence platform, powers our sourcing and research pipeline.

Corrections or concerns: support@gab-e.com