Intelligence. Accountability. Analysis.
Est. 2022 · Washington, D.C.
The Congressional Times
We follow the data, not the narrative
◆ Live Intelligence
Loading...
Analysis Loading today's analysis...
Markets

ChargePoint Posts Q2 Revenue Miss as EV Charging Demand Growth Slows

ChargePoint Posts Q2 Revenue Miss as EV Charging Demand Growth Slows

ChargePoint's fiscal Q2 results reveal a company still burning cash at scale while the broader EV charging buildout has yet to generate consistent top-line momentum, a combination that raises...

Gab-E Intelligence Platform · September 3, 2026

ChargePoint Holdings (Nasdaq: CHPT) reported fiscal second-quarter 2026 financial results after market close on Wednesday, September 3, 2026, with revenue falling short of analyst consensus estimates, according to a Seeking Alpha earnings report published the same day.

The company, which provides electric vehicle charging hardware, software, and services across commercial, fleet, and residential segments, has faced persistent pressure on its top line as fleet and commercial customers have slowed purchasing decisions in an elevated interest rate environment.

ChargePoint has not reported a net profit on a GAAP basis in any quarter since going public via a special purpose acquisition company (SPAC) merger in February 2021, according to the company's SEC filings. The company's accumulated deficit stood at more than $1.5 billion as of its most recently filed 10-Q with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

The fiscal Q2 report follows a pattern of the company revising its annual revenue guidance downward. In its fiscal year 2025 annual report filed with the SEC, ChargePoint reported full-year revenue of approximately $417 million, down from $506 million in fiscal year 2024, representing a year-over-year decline of roughly 18 percent.

Shares of CHPT had rallied in the session leading into the earnings release, a move the Seeking Alpha analysis attributed to short-covering and speculative positioning ahead of results. Whether that intraday gain holds will depend on how institutional investors interpret the Q2 revenue figure relative to the Wall Street consensus tracked by financial data providers.

The broader EV charging sector has faced a difficult operating environment through 2025 and into 2026. Federal funding from the National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) program, authorized under the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act of 2021, has moved more slowly than initially projected. The Federal Highway Administration reported in publicly available program updates that NEVI-funded station deployments have lagged original timelines in multiple states due to permitting and utility interconnection delays.

ChargePoint competes directly with Blink Charging (Nasdaq: BLNK), EVgo (Nasdaq: EVGO), and Tesla's Supercharger network. Unlike Tesla's vertically integrated model, ChargePoint operates primarily as a network and hardware provider, meaning its revenue is more exposed to third-party capital spending cycles. When commercial real estate operators, fleet managers, and municipalities tighten budgets, ChargePoint's order pipeline is among the first to feel the effect.

The company's gross margin trajectory is a key metric investors and analysts have watched. In fiscal year 2025, ChargePoint reported a GAAP gross margin of approximately 25 percent, up from negative territory in earlier years, according to the company's 10-K filed with the SEC. Whether Q2 2026 continued that improvement or reversed it was not specified in available pre-close data at the time of publication.

Operating expenses remain a central concern. ChargePoint has undertaken multiple rounds of workforce reductions since late 2023, disclosing layoffs that collectively reduced its headcount by more than 30 percent from its peak, according to company press releases filed as 8-K forms with the SEC. Management has described these as steps toward reaching non-GAAP operating expense targets, though GAAP profitability has not yet been achieved.

The stock has declined more than 85 percent from its post-SPAC peak of approximately $49 per share reached in December 2020, based on historical price data available through major financial data platforms. As of the close of trading on September 3, 2026, the precise closing price was not confirmed in the source material reviewed for this article, and investors should consult real-time exchange data for current figures.

What would confirm a meaningful turn in ChargePoint's business trajectory includes three specific data points not yet publicly available: the Q2 2026 revenue figure compared to the consensus estimate, the updated full-year fiscal 2027 revenue guidance, and the company's reported cash and equivalents balance relative to its quarterly cash burn rate as disclosed in the forthcoming 10-Q filing with the SEC.

Today's Analysis
Loading...
Latest Intelligence
Congressional Intelligence
Loading...
Financial Intelligence
Loading...
Geopolitical Intelligence
Loading...
Follow the MoneyGab-E Political Intelligence Investigation
Loading...
Opinion & Analysis
Loading...
Archive
Loading...
About
Our Mission

We Follow the Data, Not the Narrative

The Congressional Times exists because public records are public — and the analysis built from them should not be exclusive to those who can afford $60,000-a-year intelligence subscriptions.

Every story published in The Congressional Times is sourced to a verifiable public record: a court filing, a Senate lobbying disclosure, an FEC contribution record, a USASpending contract, or a verified news report. We state our sources inline. We show our math. When we are wrong, we say so publicly.

We do not editorialize in news coverage. We do not use loaded language. Both political parties are held to identical standards.

The Follow the Money investigations are the heart of this publication. Each begins with Gab-E Political Intelligence running against 10+ million government records before a single word of editorial is written.

Powered by Gab-E, an elite global intelligence platform built to democratize political and financial intelligence.

Editorial Policy
Editorial Standards & Corrections Policy

How We Source, Verify, and Correct Our Work

Every factual claim in a Congressional Times story is checked against a primary source: a government filing, a court record, a direct quote, before publication. When a claim can't be verified or doesn't hold up as originally reported, we drop it or reframe it. We do not publish disputed claims as settled fact.

When we get it wrong: we correct the story directly, note the correction and date at the bottom of the piece, and update the record. We do not quietly edit and move on.

Bylines: stories with a named byline are written and fact-checked by that person. Stories without a byline are sourced from Gab-E Political Intelligence, our automated research platform, and are labeled as such.

Ownership: The Congressional Times is published by Gab-E Holdings LLC. Gab-E, our intelligence platform, powers our sourcing and research pipeline.

Corrections or concerns: support@gab-e.com