Medicaid Kept Paying Fraudsters After Warning Signs Were Documented
Public records show Maryland-based homecare companies collected hundreds of millions in D.C. Medicaid billings while carrying federal tax liens dating to 2017, and a Colorado provider billed...
The most damning documented fact in the public record is not a allegation — it is a timeline. According to a months-long investigation by Fox Baltimore's Spotlight on Maryland unit, Maryland-based homecare providers collected what the investigation characterizes as hundreds of millions of dollars from Washington D.C.'s Medicaid program after warning signs including federal tax liens, labor lawsuits, malpractice suits, and apparently vacant office addresses had already surfaced in public records. The records reviewed by Spotlight on Maryland show the payments continued regardless. That sequence — documented liability, continued public payment — is the central finding this column examines.
One named company in the Spotlight investigation, identified in the intelligence package only by the partial name 'Khumah,' carried federal tax lien debt of $1.85 million dating to 2017, according to court records cited by the outlet. The company was simultaneously billing Washington D.C.'s Medicaid program from a Maryland address. That cross-jurisdictional structure matters: Maryland's Medicaid Fraud Control Unit holds jurisdiction over Maryland-based providers, while D.C. Medicaid fraud falls under the D.C. Office of Inspector General and federal authorities. A provider operating in one jurisdiction and billing another can fall into the enforcement gap between both. The full legal names, National Provider Identifier numbers, and total billing amounts for this company and the approximately eleven other providers identified by Spotlight on Maryland have not been reproduced in the materials available for this column and require direct retrieval from the original investigation and CMS provider enrollment records.
In Colorado, the pattern takes a starker form. A Fox News report citing a House Energy and Commerce Committee document — a primary congressional record — describes a Medicaid provider that allegedly billed approximately $165,000 for transportation and other services rendered to deceased patients. The House Energy and Commerce Committee report, cited as the primary evidentiary source, identified billing fraud occurring at what the committee characterized as multiple governmental tiers simultaneously. The specific date of that committee report and its full document number were not provided in the source materials and must be retrieved directly from the committee's published record to confirm the precise dollar figure and named provider.
At the federal level, the HHS Office of Inspector General's Medicaid Fraud Control Units Annual Report for fiscal year 2025, filed under report number OEI-09-26-00140, represents the authoritative accounting of how the fifty state MFCUs performed in identifying, prosecuting, and recovering fraudulent Medicaid expenditures. That report exists as a filed document. Its specific conviction totals, dollar recoveries, and investigation statistics were not reproduced in the materials available for this column. Until those figures are extracted directly from the OIG's published PDF, the full national enforcement picture remains unquantified in this analysis.
In New York, the Consumer Directed Personal Assistance Program — a Medicaid-funded model that allows recipients to hire family members as paid caregivers — has drawn scrutiny because its self-directed structure reduces institutional oversight, relies heavily on self-reported hours, and routes payments through Fiscal Intermediary companies that add a separate billing layer. New York amended its Public Health Law in 2024 to consolidate the program's administration. The specific fraud findings and dollar amounts alleged against CDPAP in the source materials available to this column were truncated and are unresolvable without access to the full underlying documents. Governor Kathy Hochul's office has not been shown in available records to have intervened in any MFCU investigation or blocked any prosecution; that characterization appeared in a source of low evidentiary reliability and is not reported as a finding here.
In Ohio, Republican gubernatorial nominee Vivek Ramaswamy — formerly co-director of the Department of Government Efficiency — has made Medicaid fraud a central campaign issue, citing a Daily Wire investigation by reporter Luke Rosiak that describes what the outlet terms a 'sprawling Medicaid cash pipeline.' Ramaswamy stated publicly, as quoted by the Daily Wire, that 'these are taxpayer dollars that belong in the hands of citizens' and called for prosecutions of fraud actors. The specific entities, dollar amounts, and prosecutorial mechanisms referenced in Rosiak's investigation were not reproduced in the materials available for this column. Whether the conduct described constitutes criminally actionable fraud or administrative waste has not been adjudicated. Ohio's MFCU operates under the Ohio Attorney General's office, and no referral from Ramaswamy's campaign to that office or to the U.S. Department of Justice appears in the available record.
The structural vulnerability underlying every case described here is the same: Medicaid's payment architecture — federal matching funds flowing through state agencies to managed care organizations to individual providers — creates multiple insertion points for fraudulent billing, and the cross-jurisdictional nature of some provider arrangements, such as Maryland companies billing D.C., can delay or deflect enforcement. Federal matching rates, known as FMAP rates, determine how much of each fraudulent dollar is borne by federal taxpayers versus state taxpayers; those rates for Ohio, Maryland, and New York were not specified in the available materials and require verification against CMS FMAP tables to calculate the precise federal taxpayer exposure per fraudulent dollar claimed.
What remains hidden is considerable. The full Spotlight on Maryland investigation — including the names, NPI numbers, and total billing histories of all approximately twelve identified Maryland providers — has not been entered into a public court record that this column can independently cite. The complete House Energy and Commerce Committee report on the Colorado billing case has not been retrieved with its full document identifier and date. The OIG's FY2025 MFCU report, OEI-09-26-00140, exists but its numerical contents require direct extraction. The instrument that would resolve the largest share of these gaps is a formal congressional subpoena or Government Accountability Office audit of cross-jurisdictional Medicaid billing — specifically, a matched-pair analysis of provider addresses versus billing jurisdictions, run against CMS's Provider Enrollment, Chain, and Ownership System, known as PECOS. Until that data is made public, the gap between documented warning signs and continued payments remains the most reliably sourced fact in this record.